Committees & Councils

Council on Diversity and Community
Curriculum Committee
Student Advisory Council (SAC)
Faculty Advisory Council (FAC)
Graduate Committee
Reappointment, Promotion and Tenure Committee
Scholarships and Awards Committee

Council on Diversity & Community

The CDC advises the college on issues relevant to women and minorities, including identification of tools and resources for handling work-life balance, enhancing recruitment and retention of talented members of the math and science communities, and creating environments where diversity in background and lifestyle are believed to be an asset in advancing success. The CDC organizes workshops and speakers promoting the development of resources for work-life balance in a diverse community.

Council Members 2014-15:

  • Souful Bhatia, PhD Student, Chemistry
  • Daniel Brickley, PhD Student, Plant Biology
  • Sue Carpenter, Assistant, CREATE for STEM
  • Keshabi Chapagai, Student, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • Teresa Clark, PhD Student, Plant Biology/Quantitative Biology
  • Albert Cohen, Statistics/Actuarial Science
  • Janae Currington, Advisor, Dean’s Office
  • Kelsey Funkhouser, Physics and Astronomy
  • Jared Hansen, PhD Student, Chemistry/Neuroscience
  • Frances Harper, PhD Student, Program in Mathematics Education
  • Alessandra Hunt, Research Associate, Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
  • Brin Keller, Associate Professor, Mathematics
  • Dustin Kincaid, PhD Student, Kellogg Biological Station
  • James Kirkpatrick, Dean
  • Charles Loelius, PhD Student, Physics and Astronomy
  • Sharifa Love-Rutledge, Research Associate, Physiology
  • Ashwini Maurya, PhD Student, Statistics
  • Susan McQuiston, Instructor, Biomedical Lab Diagnostics
  • Nancy Michael, Postdoc Fellow, Neuroscience
  • Faith Peterson, Assistant, Dean’s Office
  • Kendra Pyle, Advisor, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • Ariel Robbins, Advisor, DREW Science Scholars
  • Tyrone Rooney, Associate Professor, Geological Sciences
  • Pavel Sikorskii, Associate Director/Senior Specialist, Mathematics
  • Trisha Smrecak, PhD Student, Geological Sciences
  • Christy Steffke, PhD Student, Geological Sciences
  • Greg Swain, Professor, Chemistry/Neuroscience
  • Chrysoula Vasileiou, Specialist, Chemistry

View the CDC Mission and Bylaws.

Curriculum Committee

The committee handles undergraduate and graduate matters of curriculum, and is an advisory body in the area of educational policies. It examines and evaluates policies relating to subject matter, methods of instruction, academic advising, graduation requirements, and curriculum revision.

Committee Members 2014-15:

  • Gary Blanchard (Chemistry)
  • Jerry Dodgson (Microbiology and Molecular Genetics)
  • Susan Hill (Zoology)
  • Charles Hoogstraten (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology)
  • Gerry Ludden (Mathematics)
  • Amy Pollock (Chemistry)
  • Undergrad Student Rep
  • Grad Stud Rep


  • Representative to the University Curriculum Committee
  • Representative to the University Committee on Undergraduate Education
  • Representative of the Natural Science Graduate Committee
  • R. James Kirkpatrick, Dean
  • G. Mark Voit, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education
  • Richard Schwartz, Associate Dean for Graduate Education
  • Deb Dotterer, Director of Undergraduate Student Affairs

For details on the Curriculum Committee composition, functions and procedures, see the College Bylaws (section 3.4.5).

Student Advisory Council (SAC)

The SAC advises the college on issues concerning undergraduate and graduate students, and promotes the interests of these students. View the roster and more details on SAC.

Faculty Advisory Council (FAC)

The FAC advises the college on matters of importance to the faculty, nominates representatives to the Academic Council and university committees, selects faculty members for college committees, and selects nominees for the Distinguished Faculty Awards, Teacher-Scholar Awards, and Excellence in Teaching Awards.

Council Members 2014-2015

  • BMB-Tim Zacharewski
  • BLD-Francis Downes
  • CEM-Dana Spence
  • ENT-Anthony Cognato
  • GLG-Danita Brandt
  • KBS-Elena Litchman
  • MTH-Vera Zeidan
  • MMG-George Garrity
  • NEU-Hongbing Wang
  • PHY-Carlo Piermarocchi
  • PSL-Pat Dillon
  • PLB-Katherine Osteryoung
  • PRL-Beronda Montgomery
  • STT-Tapabrata Maiti
  • ZOL-Diana Bello
  • Postdoc Representative-Saul Beceiro Nobo
  • Undergrad DSAC Representative-Anthony Findley
  • Graduate DSAC Representative-Kristin Gore


R. James Kirkpatrick, Dean
David DeWitt, Senior Associate Dean

For details on the College Faculty Advisory Council composition, functions and procedures, see the College Bylaws (section 3.3.2).

Graduate Committee

The coordinating committee for the graduate programs in the college is a formal channel of communication on matters involving the graduate programs and research activities that may be received from individuals.


  • Graduate program directors of each academic unit in the College.
  • Graduate student representatives (2).


  • Representatives to the University Graduate Council
  • R. James Kirkpatrick, Dean
  • Richard Schwartz, Associate Dean for Graduate Studies

For details on the Graduate Committee composition, functions and procedures, see the College Bylaws (section 3.4.6).

Reappointment, Promotion & Tenure Committee

The RPT Committee has shared responsibility with the Dean in making recommendations regarding promotion and tenure of faculty.

Committee Members 2015:

  • Fred Dyer (Zoology)
  • Efstratia Kalfagianni (Mathematics)
  • Aaron Odom (Chemistry)
  • Yair Shachar-Hill (Plant Biology)
  • Gary Westfall (Physics and Astronomy)
  • Zhengfang Zhou (Mathematics)


  • R. James Kirkpatrick, Dean
  • R. Sekhar Chivukula, Associate Dean

For details on the Promotion and Tenure Committee composition, functions and procedures, see our Bylaws (section 3.4.7).

For details on the reappointment, promotion and tenure process, see the Guidelines for Faculty Reappointment, Promotion and Tenure in the College of Natural Science.

Scholarships & Awards Committee

The committee handles the selection procedures for all endowed scholarships and awards in the college as defined by the guidelines of each individual scholarship or award.

Committee Members 2014-15

  • Eric Hegg (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology)
  • Jim McCusker (Chemistry)
  • Jeanne Wald (Mathematics)
  • Graduate Student Representative
  • Undergraduate Student Representative


  • Alumni Representatives (2)
  • G. Mark Voit, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education
  • Deb Dotterer, Director of Academic Student Affairs

For details on the College Faculty Advisory Council composition, functions and procedures, see the College Bylaws (section 3.4.8).