FAC Minutes 09-07-17

College of Natural Science

Faculty Advisory Council

Meeting Minutes

September 7, 2017

Present: S. Balasubramaniam, S. Beceiro Novo, D. Bello, T. Curry, D. DeWitt, K. Dong, F. Downes, J. Kirkpatrick, D. Liu, D. Long, K. Olson, N. Ostrom, F. Peterson, F. Telewski, M. TerAvest, K. Yu, and S. Zepf


Dean Search Update from Terry Curry, associate provost & associate vice president for academic human resources

T. Curry gave a recap on what has happened with the search for a new dean. The person who was offered the position decided that, due to family issues, she wasn’t able to come. Other candidates were considered but, in comparison, they didn’t mesh as well as the first candidate. Search consultants are already on the job reaching out to candidates. The provost’s office hopes to have candidates on campus in December or early January and a new dean in place by the beginning of next academic year. There is no intention of replacing people on the search committee, although that is within the purview of the NatSci Faculty Advisory Committee. He thinks the committee did an outstanding job. Dean Kirkpatrick will be continuing through December 31, 2017. T. Curry will be in touch with the FAC regarding the appointment of an interim dean.


Approval of Minutes. The minutes from the May 11, 2017 meeting were approved as written.


Old Business


Alternative SIRS

The following committee members constitute the Alternative SIRS Subcommittee. Diana Bello chaired the subcommittee until her term ended spring 2017. Francis Downes has agreed to take over as chair. An alternative SIRS form has been drafted. The subcommittee will review and edit it before presenting it to the FAC and eventually testing it. The Student Advisory Council needs to be contacted about possible additions to the subcommittee since some of the members have graduated. Other FAC members interested in joining should talk with F. Downes.


Frances Downes, chair

Shanker Balasubramaniam

Saul Beceiro Novo

Sydney Daviskiba

Taylor Fillar

Di Liu

Mary Sabuda




New Business


Elect Officers (Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary)

Officer positions were filled as indicated below.

Chair: Saul Beceiro Novo

Vice Chair: Frances Downes

Secretary: Dave Long


Choose a liaison between the FAC and the University Council/Faculty Senate

As FAC chair, Saul Becceiro Novo will serve on the University Council/Faculty Senate.


Choose two FAC members to serve on the Student Advisory Council (SAC)

K. Olson and M. TerAvest agreed to serve on the SAC for the academic year.


Choose an Awards Coordinator

Nathaniel Ostrom agreed to serve as the awards coordinator for the academic year.


Reminder to Review University Award Nomination Packets (Comments due 9/20/17)

Members were reminded that review of current award nomination packets are due to F. Peterson September 20, 2017. Nominators have one more opportunity to update awards packets. Therefore, comments to make nomination packets stronger to non-NatSci faculty members are needed. It was noted that packets should reflect broad-based influence on society in some way (beyond scientific). It was decided that responsibility for award review would be divided among FAC members so that every member does not have to review nomination packets for all awards. The new chair will work with F. Peterson to divide them up. More information forthcoming.


Role of FAC

Discussion took place regarding the opportunity to provide more guidance to the dean. Adding a standard item to the agenda soliciting suggestions from members for the next meeting may be a step in that direction.


Next Meeting: October 12, 2017