NatSci faculty members named AAAS Fellows

Published November 25, 2014

Christoph Benning

Two College of Natural Science (NatSci) researchers are among those recently named 2014 AAAS Fellows by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

This national recognition is awarded to researchers for their efforts to advance science or its applications.

The NatSci AAAS Fellows are:

  • Christoph Benning, professor of biochemistry and molecular biology
  • Lee Kroos, professor of biochemistry and molecular biology

Benning is being honored for his distinguished contributions to the field of plant biochemistry, particularly the study of plant lipids and the enzymes and genes responsible for lipid biosynthesis.

Lee Kross

Kroos has been selected for his seminal contributions to the understanding of developmental regulation in bacteria Bacillus subtilis and Myxococcus xanthus, and distinguished mentoring and service to the scientific community.

In addition to Benning and Kroos, MSU’s Barbara Schneider, John A. Hannah Chair and Distinguished Professor in the College of Education and Department of Sociology was also named a AAAS Fellow.

This year, 401 members nationally have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New fellows will be honored on Feb. 14, 2015 during the annual AAAS meeting in San Jose, Calif.