MSU mathematics junior receives Goldwater Scholarship

  • Apr 4, 2016
  • Faculty & Staff, Research, Students, Mathematics

Thomas Grubb

Thomas Grubb

Michigan State University’s Thomas Grubb has earned the nationally competitive Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship.

From Haslett, Mich., Grubb is a junior majoring in mathematics (advanced track) in the College of Natural Science (NatSci) and economics in the College of Social Science. He is also an Honors College student.

Grubb is MSU’s 43rd Goldwater Scholar since the scholarship program was established by Congress in 1986. He was selected from a pool of 1,150 applicants.

“Being named a Goldwater Scholar is a direct reflection of the support and opportunities I have received while at Michigan State,” Grubb said. “I am honored to receive this award and grateful to my teachers, peers and family who have made this possible.”

Grubb worked as a professorial assistant for the National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory as a freshman. In 2014, he performed research on mathematic patterns and statistics as part of the MSU Undergraduate Research Institute in Experimental Mathematics. Most recently, he conducted research in probabilistic methods at East Tennessee State University. Grubb is also an Econ Scholar and the recipient of the MSU Alumni Distinguished Scholarship, the L.C. Plant Award Scholarship and the Harold and Helen Tolles Scholarship.

“The Goldwater Scholarships are a great honor, with only 252 winners selected out of all the sophomores and juniors in mathematics and science in the United States this year,” said Keith Promislow, chair of the MSU Department of Mathematics. “Thomas's work with Professor Bruce Sagan on combinatorial pattern avoidance in set partitions and restricted growth functions shows his exceptional promise as a mathematician. We are extremely proud to have students of his caliber in our program.”

“Thomas’s selection as a Goldwater Scholar is a testament to the quality of students that we have at Michigan State,” said R. James Kirkpatrick, NatSci dean. “We congratulate him on this outstanding achievement and wish him continued success.”

MSU also had two students receive honorable mentions: juniors Hananiel Setiawan, who is majoring in physics in the College of Natural Science; and Laura Azouz, who is majoring in chemical engineering in the College of Engineering. Both are Honors College students. 

Share this story