MSU NatSci scientists named AAAS Fellows

  • Nov 21, 2016
  • Faculty & Staff, Research, Chemistry, Integrative Biology

Two Michigan State University College of Natural Science (NatSci) faculty members were named 2016-17 AAAS Fellows by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Thomas Pinnavaia, University Distinguished Professor Emeritus of chemistry; and James Smith, NatSci entomologist and integrative biologist, and professor of biology in Lyman Briggs College, received the national honor for their efforts to advance science or its applications.

Thomas Pinnavaia

Thomas Pinnavaia

"These individuals are leaders in their disciplines and representative of the outstanding quality of work being done at MSU," said Stephen Hsu, vice president for Research and Graduate Studies. "Their research has an important impact on the frontiers of human knowledge."

Pinnavaia was recognized for distinguished contributions to the field of inorganic materials chemistry, particularly for innovative synthesis of mesophases via supramolecular assembly and the intercalation of lamellar solids.

James Smith

James Smith

Smith was recognized for distinguished contributions to the field of entomology evolution and the development of novel evolution pedagogies, along with sustained high excellence as an undergraduate teacher and mentor.

“Professor Pinnavaia is an international leader in inorganic materials synthesis and intercalation compounds,” said R. James Kirkpatrick, NatSci Dean. “His work has influenced generations of chemists and has had very broad impact. And Professor Smith is a leader in insect molecular evolution and an outstanding teacher who has had positive impact on many students. We congratulate them both on this well-deserved honor.”

AAAS named 391 new fellows and will honor them on Feb. 18, during the 2017 AAAS annual meeting in Boston.

For a complete list of MSU AAAS Fellows, visit

Share this story