NatSci student earns 2016 Board of Trustees' Award for GPA

  • Dec 19, 2016
  • Faculty & Staff, Research, Students, Neuroscience

Rachel Rolinski

Rachel Rolinski

MSU College of Natural Science (NatSci) neuroscience major Rachel Rolinski was one of nine students recognized earlier this month by the MSU Board of Trustees for maintaining a 4.0 GPA during their time at the university.

“Maintaining a perfect 4.0 at MSU is quite an achievement, particularly in a rigorous program such as neuroscience,” said Mark Voit, NatSci associate dean of undergraduate studies. “The College of Natural Science is happy to congratulate Rachel on her extraordinary academic success.”

Rolinski is from Glen Ellyn, Ill., and attended Glenbard West High School. She is also a member of the MSU Honors College, volunteers as a coordinator for the MSU Pre-Medical Association, acts as a wellness consultant for her sorority, Gamma Phi Beta and was a camp counselor with Camp Kesem, a student organization that gives children a free camp experience if they have parent(s) affected by cancer.

“One of my favorite memories from the College of Natural Science was working on my senior neuroscience lab,” Rolinski said. “My group used flies to model Parkinson's disease, and although we didn't get the results we were looking for, I had so much fun collaborating and perfecting our presentation.”

She also praised her mentor, Heather Eisthen, an integrative biology professor, for her support and guidance.

“During our weekly Honors Option meetings for my neural basis of animal behavior class, Dr. Esithen taught me how to think critically about current science being published,” Rolinski said.

“I'd also like to thank the Honors College and College of Natural Science for giving me the opportunity to participate in research since my freshman year and for always incorporating recent publications into my courses," she added. "Research has been intricately interwoven into my undergraduate experience and has shaped my career goals for the future.”

For a complete list of the other students receiving BOT awards at the Dec. 16 meeting, visit

Share this story