MSU NatSci professors named American Physical Society Fellows

  • Dec 29, 2017
  • nuclear physics, biological physics, Fellow, American Physical Society, Faculty
  • Homepage News, Faculty & Staff, Research, Microbiology, Physics & Astronomy

Two MSU College of Natural Science (NatSci) professors, Chris Adami and Remco Zegers, were recently named 2017 American Physical Society (APS) Fellows. The fellowship is a distinct honor and recognition of significant contributions to the field of physics.

Image of Chris Adami

Chris Adami

Adami, a professor in the Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics (MMG) and adjunct professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, was nominated by the APS Division of Biological Physics for novel, methodological contributions to the study of evolution using digital experimentation and biological systems using information theory.

“Being elected a fellow of APS is a nice vindication and recognition by my peers,” Adami said. “The society brings together physicists of all branches in the U.S. Being elected is acknowledgement that as a scientist you have worked in a particular area, such as physical biology, for quite a while and made a contribution. That is all that we hope to be able to do, and it is a nice honor.”

The MMG department chair, Victor DiRita, credits Adami with MSU’s strong reputation in the field of evolution in action.

"The field of molecular biology was born when physicists got curious about biology in the middle of the last century,” DiRita said. “Over his career, Chris has built on this intellectual foundation by bringing his physicist's training and insights to the study of evolutionary biology.”

Image of Remko Zegers

Remko Zegers

Zegers, a professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, was nominated for the APS Fellowship by the APS Division of Nuclear Physics for his research groups’ efforts to elucidate the spin-isospin response of nuclei, with applications in astrophysics and neutrino physics.

“The APS Fellowship is a much-appreciated recognition,” Zegers said. “This honor was not possible without the support and contributions from colleagues, staff and collaborators at the National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory and beyond. I am particularly appreciative of the efforts by the excellent students and postdocs in my research group who have contributed tremendously to the research program over many years. I am also very thankful for the support from the laboratory, the Department of Physics and Astronomy and the National Science Foundation.”  

"The election of Professors Zegers and Adami to fellowship of the APS is a high honor that is well deserved,” said Phil Duxbury, Department of Physics and Astronomy chair. “Dr. Zegers is a leading experimental nuclear physicist and a key part of our number one ranked nuclear physics graduate program. Dr. Adami has refocused his research on evolutionary and systems biology; however, he continues to make important contributions to quantum information science. The outstanding performance of these new APS fellows is a strong indicator of the vitality of physics and astronomy research in our department and at MSU.”

For a complete list of APS Fellows, click here.


Banner image: Illustration of neutrinos based on Fermilab Bubble Chamber image.