NatSci senior nominated for prestigious Churchill Scholarship

  • Nov 12, 2017
  • students, national scholarship, Microbiology, Research
  • Homepage News, Faculty & Staff, Research, Students, Microbiology

Abigail Shotwell

Abigail Shotwell

Michigan State University has nominated Abigail Shotwell, a senior majoring in microbiology in the College of Natural Science, for the Churchill Scholarship, a nationally competitive STEM award that pays for graduate school in the United Kingdom.

Shotwell, who is also an Honors College student, was an honorable mention for the Goldwater Scholarship earlier this year. She is a research assistant in the MSU Water Quality, Environmental and Molecular Microbiology Laboratory, headed by Joan Rose, Homer Nowlin Chair in Water Research, where she monitors bacterial levels. Previously, she worked as a research assistant for Assistant Professor Gerald Urquhart.

“It is an honor to be nominated by Michigan State for the Churchill Scholarship,” Shotwell said. “This nomination represents a culmination of the academic and research opportunities I’ve had at MSU, and it is the next step in achieving my goal of attending graduate school for epidemiology.”

“Abigail is the kind of leader and student that we love to teach because she not only understands the integration of STEM, but also shares it with her fellow students,” Rose said. “These kinds of awards highlight MSU’s commitment to STEM and gives a boost to students like Abigail who are going to excel and be future leaders.”

Established in 1959, the Winston Churchill Foundation’s Scholarship Program offers 14 American students of exceptional ability and outstanding achievement the opportunity to pursue graduate degrees in engineering, mathematics or the sciences in Churchill College at the University of Cambridge in England. 

MSU has produced 18 Churchill Scholars.

Banner photo courtesy of the Joan Rose Laboratory.