NatSci's Angela Wilson named to Michigan Women's Hall of Fame

  • Aug 22, 2018
  • Outreach, teaching, research, Michigan Women's Hall of Fame, Award, Faculty
  • Homepage Hero, Alumni, Faculty & Staff, Research, Chemistry, College of Natural Science
Image of Angela K. Wilson
Angela K. Wilson

Angela K. Wilson, Michigan State University Hannah Professor of computational chemistry, is among five women named to the 2018 class of the Michigan Women’s Hall of Fame by Michigan Women Forward (MWF).

“On behalf of the College of Natural Science, I want to congratulate Dr. Wilson on this notable and well-deserved recognition,” said Phil Duxbury, College of Natural Science (NatSci) dean. “Throughout her career, she has distinguished herself as a leader, mentor and role model, not only in her research pursuits, but in promoting and engaging youth in science and in advocating for women’s success in academia.”

Wilson, who joined MSU in February 2016, also served as director for the Division of ​Chemistry at the National Science Foundation from March 2016 through July 2018.

“I am very honored by this recognition,” Wilson said. “I very much appreciate the support of my colleagues, friends, parents and my children, who have been so supportive of me through the years.  Without their support and encouragement, this never would have been possible.”

Xuefei Huang, professor in the MSU Department of Chemistry and Wilson’s nominator, was excited and gratified to see her selected for induction into the Michigan Women’s Hall of Fame.

“Dr. Wilson is internationally renowned for her research in computational chemistry,” Huang said. “She is a world leader in the development of quantum mechanical methods.”

The methods that Wilson has developed are used throughout the world in the chemistry community, and she has been recognized as a finalist for the Emerging Technology Award given by the American Chemical Society Division of Computers in Chemistry. She also serves as editor of Computational and Theoretical Chemistry, one of the oldest scientific publications in her field. 

Beyond her research, she has been an advocate for recognizing women, leading an international project on challenges for women in science and has spoken internationally on long-standing challenges women still face, while encouraging opportunities. She is also a huge promoter of youth, mentoring nearly 100 high schoolers in her research laboratory, with numerous students winning top national science competitions.

“She has been a great role model and advocate for women’s success," Huang added. "I am very pleased that she has received this honor.”

In addition to Wilson, the contemporary women inductees include MSU’s Dr. Mona Hanna-Attisha, the Flint Water Crisis whistleblower, and Wayne County Prosecutor Kym Worthy. In the historical category, the Hall of Fame is recognizing Agatha Biddle, who negotiated the 1855 Treaty of Detroit, and Clara Stanton Jones, the first woman and first African American to serve as director of a major city public library. These women join 318 other Hall of Fame winners.

The 35th annual dinner and ceremony will be held on Thursday, October 18, 2018, at MSU’s Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center, East Lansing, Mich. Tickets are $150 per person and can be purchased at

Established in 1983, the Michigan Women’s Hall of Fame is now located at Meridian Mall in Okemos, Mich., and managed under the auspices by MWF. For a complete list of inductees since its founding in 1983, visit


Banner image: Today’s Michigan Women’s Hall of Fame contains nearly 300 inductees.