Display Accessibility Tools

Accessibility Tools


Highlight Links

Change Contrast

Increase Text Size

Increase Letter Spacing

Readability Bar

Dyslexia Friendly Font

Increase Cursor Size

Committees and Councils

Curriculum Committee
Student Advisory Council (SAC)
Faculty Advisory Council (FAC)
Graduate Committee
Reappointment, Promotion and Tenure Committee
Scholarships and Awards Committee
University Committee NatSci Representatives

Curriculum Committee

The committee handles undergraduate and graduate matters of curriculum, and is an advisory body in the area of educational policies. It examines and evaluates policies relating to subject matter, methods of instruction, academic advising, graduation requirements, and curriculum revision.

Committee Members 2020-2021

  • Vince Melfi (STT)
  • Amy Pollock (CEM)
  • Denis Proshlyakov (CEM)
  • Ben Schmidt (MTH)
  • Stuart Tessemer(PHY)
  • Erica Wehrwein (PSL)
  • Undergrad Student Rep
  • Grad Student Rep


  • Representative to the University Curriculum Committee
  • Representative to the University Committee on Undergraduate Education
  • Representative of the Natural Science Graduate Committee
  • Phillip M. Duxbury, Dean
  • Lynmarie Posey, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education
  • Richard Schwartz, Associate Dean for Graduate Education
  • Cori Fata-Hartley, Assistant Dean for Curriculum Coordination
  • Heidi Purdy, Assistant Dean for Academic and Student Affairs
  • Danielle Flores Lopez, Director of Academic Advising and Student Success Initiatives
  • Janae Lawler, Director of Academic Advising and Strategic Initiatives


For details on the Curriculum Committee composition, functions and procedures, see the College Bylaws (section 3.4.5).

Student Advisory Council (SAC)

The SAC advises the college on issues concerning undergraduate and graduate students, and promotes the interests of these students. View the roster and more details on SAC.

Faculty Advisory Council (FAC)

The FAC advises the college on matters of importance to the faculty, nominates representatives to the Academic Council and university committees, selects faculty members for college committees, and selects nominees for the Distinguished Faculty Awards, Teacher-Scholar Awards, and Excellence in Teaching Awards.

Council Members 2021-2022

  • Hideki Takashi (BMB)
  • Rachel Morris (BLD)
  • Kevin Walker (CEM)
  • Saul Beceiro-Novo (CISGS)
  • Alexei Bazavov (CMSE)
  • Bruno Basso (EES)
  • Kyle Miller (IBIO)
  • Di Liu (MTH)
  • Kefei Yu (MMG)
  • Michael Koval (NEU)
  • Pengpeng Zhang (PHY)
  • Susanne Mohr (PSL)
  • Yair Schachar-Hill (PLB)
  • Jianping Hu (PRL)
  • Gee Lee (STT)
  • DEIAC Representative - Diana Bello-DeOcampo
  • Postdoc Representative 
  • Undergrad SAC Representative  
  • Graduate SAC Representative  


Phillip M. Duxbury, Dean

Eric Hegg, Associate Dean
Cheryl Sisk, Associate Dean for Faculty Development

Follow this link for Faculty Advisory Council Meeting Minutes.

For details on the NatSci Faculty Advisory Council composition, functions, and procedures, see the NatSci Bylaws (section 3.3.2).

Graduate Committee

The coordinating committee for the graduate programs in the college is a formal channel of communication on matters involving the graduate programs and research activities that may be received from individuals.


  • Graduate program directors of each academic unit in the College.
  • Graduate student representatives (2).


  • Representatives to the University Graduate Council
  • Phillip M. Duxbury, Dean
  • Richard Schwartz, Associate Dean for Graduate Studies

For details on the Graduate Committee composition, functions and procedures, see the College Bylaws (section 3.4.6).

Reappointment, Promotion & Tenure Committee

The RPT Committee has shared responsibility with the Dean in making recommendations regarding promotion and tenure of faculty.

Committee Members 2021:

  • Fred Dyer (IBIO)
  • Jim Geiger (CEM)
  • Jon Kaguni (BMB)
  • Rob Last (PLB)
  • Julie Libarkin (EES)
  • Filomena Nunes (PHY)
  • Gemma Reguera (MMG)
  • Luda Sakhanenko (STT)
  • Guowei Wei (MTH)


  • Cheryl Sisk, Associate Dean for Faculty Development

For details on the Promotion and Tenure Committee composition, functions and procedures, see our Bylaws (section 3.4.7).

For details on the reappointment, promotion and tenure process, see the Guidelines for Faculty Reappointment, Promotion and Tenure in the College of Natural Science.

Scholarships & Awards Committee

The committee handles the selection procedures for all endowed scholarships and awards in the college as defined by the guidelines of each individual scholarship or award.

Committee Members 2021-2022

  • Shelba Onchiri (Specialist - Advisor)
  • Ben Schmidt (MTH)
  • William Yang (Support Staff)
  • Ed Walker (MMG)
  • Vladimir Zelevinsky (PHY)
  • DEIAC Representative
  • Graduate Student Representative
  • Postdoc Representative
  • Undergraduate Student Representative


  • Lynmarie Posey, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education
  • Danielle Flores Lopez, Associate Director of Student Success
  • Carolyn Sekedat, Office Coordinator

For details on the Scholarships and Awards Committee composition, functions and procedures, see the College Bylaws (section 3.4.8).

University Committee NatSci Representatives

Committee Members 2021-2022:

  • University Council and Faculty Senate
    • Thomas Hamann (CEM)
    • Michelle Mazei-Robison (PSL)
    • Aaron Odom (CEM)
    • Willie Wong (MTH)
    • FAC Chair
      • Steering Committee: Megan Donahue (PHY)
  • Standing Committees
    • Undergrad Education - Gina Leinninger (PSL)
    • Curriculum - Robert Laduca (CEM)
    • Faculty Affairs - Matthew Comstock (PHY)
    • Faculty Tenure - Xiangshi Jin (CEM)
    • Graduate Studies
      • Rajesh Kulkami (MTH)
      • Tom Sharkey (BMB)
    • Academic Governance - Gabor Francsics (MTH)
  • Advisory/Consultative Committees
    • Honors Programs - Kathleen Hoag (BLD)
    • International Programs - Min-Hao Kuo (BMB)
    • Library - Atma Mandrekar (STT)
  • Hearing Boards
    • University Student-Faculty Judiciaries
      • Peter Magyar (MTH)
      • Karl Olson (PSL)
      • Yimin Xiao (STT)